Bungoma, Kenya

I don’t know where to start in thanking God for the two year exposure around the beautiful country during my work assignments in Family Bank. He truly satisfied my heart’s desire by giving me this job, which by far and large has taken me to places in my small mind would not have thought ever existed let alone enjoy the different cultures.

At a glance, one would take Bungoma to be quite a boring place judging from the lack of popularity of the place in the airwaves. This is my second visit to the town and there is plenty to learn from each time I visit.

Though there is a ‘Boda-Boda Restricted’ signage at the Municipal Council wall, the business forms quite a key part of the community’s economy. The major points we visited was Hotel Rosswood, which was where we spent our nights, Shariffs Place, a complex plaza which housed different business among them retails shops, a garden retreat centre, beauty shops and the town’s re-known joint, Shariffs…which I happen to watch an international friendly match between England and Spain during my visit.

There were however no nature sceneries around leaving my team to visit Savona Hotel over the weekend, in Kakamega branch. The town is also closest to on eof the border towns between Kenya and Uganda, commonly known Malaba…where my memory draw me back to a near incident where I would have spent a night in the Uganda Border Police Post due to photographing the same police post as well as a near death experience, where the matatu we travelled in to the Malaba town hit a passenger. A bad experience it was as an illegal immigrant 🙂

For a trip to the town Nairobi, you are guaranteed at least 7 hours of road travel.

Pictures coming soon.

Leave a Reply

